Tuscany Bread

A few pals pointed out my lapse in blogging (6 or 7 months, whoops) over the weekend, and my excuse was that I feel like I haven’t been cooking anything all that interesting. We’ve been eating a lot of the same few things in recent months; things that are so easy and quick to make that I don’t think are all that exciting or recipe worthy… but maybe they are… so in the next few weeks I’ll try to post some ‘what we’ve been eating lately’ recipes.

First up is actually a copy cat recipe of an appetizer that I used to get at Uno’s years and years ago. They called it Tuscany Bread, so I will too. It’s no longer on their menu, but I like to make it every now and then. This is not a very healthy dish, but it’s tasty every once in awhile.tuscany bread
Tuscany Bread

Ingredients:
Baguette (or French loaf, Ciabatta, etc.)
Pesto
Munster
Baby spinach
Diced tomato (roma is great for this recipe)
Lemon wedges

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400º
2. Determine how much bread you want to eat, then take that amount and cut it in half lengthwise and toast it in the oven for about 3-4 minutes.
3. Spread a layer of pesto on both sides. Use however much you want, but pesto goes a long way so you don’t need too much.
4. Add a lot of baby spinach. I like to add 2-3 layers.
5. Cover the bread with munster. If you don’t have (or like) munster, mozzarella cheese is just fine.
6. Add some diced tomatoes. In my opinion, the more tomatoes on this, the better.
7. Bake until the cheese is melted. I like to also broil this right at the end for 30 seconds.
8. When you sit down to eat, squeeze some lemon on top.

Although those fools at Uno’s called this an appetizer, I often eat it as the main dish, with a salad or some other vegetable on the size. It’s kind of pizza-like, so it’s totally a main dish. And in the picture above, I served it on my great-grandmothers china that my grandmother gave some of to me, so that makes this fancy. Don’t let anyone tell you any different!

2 responses to “Tuscany Bread

  1. Like a mini pizza!

  2. You’re back!!

Leave a Reply

