Lots of Chocolate Cowboy Oatmeal Bars

I don’t have crave chocolate or dessert, but it seems like from this blog that I do. I just really like to bake in the cold months!  Luckily, Brent had a work potluck and I wanted to try make cookie bars, which I’ve never done before. I found a recipe on Land O’Lakes.com for Cowboy Oatmeal Bars (#ClientAlert) and decided to make them with what I had on hand. M&Ms and chocolate chips instead of walnuts and peanut butter chips.

Lots of Chocolate Cowboy Oatmeal Bars
(makes 24 bars, adapted from Land O’Lakes)

Ingredients:
1 cup butter or margarine, softened
3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups uncooked quick-cooking oats
1 cup milk or real semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup M&Ms

Directions:
1. Heat oven to 375°F.

2. Combine butter, brown sugar and sugar in large bowl. Beat at medium speed, scraping bowl often, until creamy.

3. Add eggs and vanilla; continue beating until well mixed.

4. Reduce speed to low; add flour, baking soda and salt. Beat until well mixed.

5. Stir in oats; mix well. Stir in chocolate chips and M&Ms. You can stir in 1 cup of anything else you’d like too: Land O’Lakes suggests peanut butter chips and walnuts, butterscotch chips could be good. Peanut butter could be awesome as well.

6. Press dough evenly into ungreased 15x10x1-inch jelly-roll pan. Bake for 16 to 25 minutes or until golden brown. (I cooked these forever, they seemed to never get brown, but they turned out great)

7. Cut these while they are hot! I cut the pan into 24 bars. Then let them cool completely and pack them away in a tupperware when cool.

These are very chocolaty, moist (not dry–which was my fear!) and Brent seemed to like them (he ate two to “test them”). They were easy to cut and pack up away. I think these were missing a peanut butter flavor and if I made them again I’d for sure get those peanut butter chips, or even add peanut butter to the mix.

One response to “Lots of Chocolate Cowboy Oatmeal Bars

  1. Pingback: Monster Cookies | Lots of Dishes

Leave a Reply

