Roasted Tomatillo/Verde Enchilada Sauce

My CSA has sent us tons of tomatillos this summer. I kind of only know how to make one (er, 1.5) things with them… so I keep making enchilada sauce. Good thing it is delicious.

I looked at this recipe once, and it has always made a delicious sauce, although in reading it closely for this post I realized I haven’t ever followed it properly.

Verde Enchilada Sauce
6-8 medium tomatillos, husked and washed
1 medium onion, chopped
1-2 cloves garlic
1 medium/large jalepeno pepper
1/2 cup water
salt and freshly ground pepper
1/4 cup cilantro
1/2 lime juiced

Directions
1. Remove the husks from the tomatillos. They will be sticky (and possibly smell a little funky) but just wash them as best as you can and dry them off.

2. Roast the jalapeno, garlic and tomatillos on a baking sheet under the broiler (on high). Broil until black and blistering on all sides, turning as needed. Make sure the garlic doesn’t burn– you may have to take that out early. This all takes less than 5 minutes.

3. Remove from oven and place in a ziploc bag, or a bowl covered tightly with saran. Allow to sit for 5 minutes, then remove and peel. Discard skin, core and seeds. (Note- I have always skipped this step and I’m not dead yet. So feel free to do the same!)

4. Heat a sauce pan until medium and add a little oil and cook the onion onion until browned. (Um–I’ve never done this either. I bet it would be delicious, and I’ll try it next time.)

5. Get out your blender or food processor and dump all ingredients into it until it is a thin liquid.

Well… so clearly I’m not so great at following directions. But the sauce tastes awesome with my Mom’s enchilada recipe I’ve also eaten this as a salsa (see above photo), which tasted awesome. Just leave out the water!  This sauce is a little spicy, a little sweet and seriously easy to make.

Make it, then open up a can of salsa verde enchilada sauce and taste the difference. I did this last  night and it was a million times better. GO!

Leave a Reply

