CSA 2012 weeks 9-12

I’m trying to soak up summer, so I’ve failed at blogging. But don’t worry, I’ve been cooking like it’s my part-time job. Sort of because it is. When you get a giant box of organic vegetables every week that will go bad within a few days and have a few plants growing in your garden*, you spent hours each week planning and cooking. I can’t realllllllly complain, it’s pretty wonderful.

So here is what we’ve got in the last few weeks.

CSA Week #9 Made some tomatillo salsa and roasted tomato basil soup. I’ve also been really in to making a eggplant and tomato version of this Summer Vegetable Tian. It’s stellar. The cantaloupe went to our pals Lez + Jenny who live a block away.

CSA Week #10  That crazy looking stuff in the background is edamame. I usually eat it out of a bag from Trader Joe’s, but this stuff was tasty once you got over the fuzziness of the stuff. I froze some of the corn, made a lot of cabbage ramen salad, and used a lot of the peppers to make a swiss cheese/lettuce/pepper pita pocket for lunch.

CSA Week #11 Oh this was a great week, another round of tomatillo salsa for a book club we hosted, fresh pasta sauce, and a big batch of roasted veggies, a cherry tomato/squash crumble and PICKLES!  I swear to post these recipes one day. I still have those poblano peppers and hope to make something! Oh, and again we dropped off 1/2 of those melons to our neighbor-friends. They call us Mom and Dad for a reason.

CSA Week #12 We roasted that broccoli and made a panzanella with some of the tomatoes for dinner tonight, and gave away the cucumbers, salad mix and honey dew this weekend due to being away for Labor Day. Share the wealth! The watermelon is a Yellow Doll watermelon–they are delicious.

I’m ready for lucky week #13.

*By garden I mean some plants stuck here and there in the front yard, and then some more in some pots on the porch. 

Leave a Reply

