Mexican Bean dip.

I wish I could say that I was in charge of an easter brunch and have some fancy delicious vegetarian recipes to share from this weekend, but I was not in charge! I sat back and played with babies and dogs all weekend. Rough life.

There was one night this weekend that I did get to step in the kitchen and take charge. Brent’s brother-in-law was craving guacamole, so Mexican food was the plan. Baby Thomas was getting bored of Easter food anyway. 

I decided to make a bean dip. This is a super easy vegetarian appetizer that is so delicious, awesome for parties and amazingly inexpensive. My friend in high school made this recipe up and I’ve made it often ever since.
Mexican Bean Dip: The Ingredient List
1 can of vegetarian refried beans
1 cup of your favorite salsa (not-chunky)
1 fresh jalapeño, seeded/diced
1 T diced onion
1/2 cup cheddar or mexican blend cheese, divided
Directions
1. Open the can of beans. Pour in an oven safe baking dish.
2. Add salsa, jalapeño (you can use more jalapeño or jarred ones if you’d rather), 1/4 cup cheese and onion to the beans. Stir well.
3. Pop the dish into the microwave for 2 minutes or until everything is heated through.
4. Pour the rest of the cheese  on top of the bean mixture. Add more than 1/4 cup if you’d like.
5. Place this in the oven at 400° for about 10 minutes or until cheese is golden brown. Feel free to broil as well.
This serves best with some tortilla chips or corn chips of some sort. To be honest, I’ve never tried this awesome recipe with anything else. I’m open to suggestions!
Along with my appetizer, the carnivores had grilled chicken tacos and I heated up a can of black beans for my taco filling.

vegetarian taco filling. delicious!

Most everyone decided to put a little black beans in their taco, so they were a hit. Also, no meal would be complete without a topping bar so we made a nice looking spread.
What would you make for a Meatless Mexican Meal?
10 responses to “Mexican Bean dip.

  1. I love this!

  2. I make vegetarian nachos at home all the time! With black beans. So much better and quicker than trying to use any meat. This just made me crave Mexican food at 9 am.

    • You could have Mexican food for breakfast! I hear chilaquiles are for breakfast, and cure hangovers. They are pretty much breakfast nachos as well, so I mean…

  3. Yumm! This sounds so delicious. Perfect recipe for upcoming Cinco de Mayo partay!

    • yes! and the enchiladas from a few weeks ago too! we will be celebrating cinco de mayo in the car, so i’ll make sure to make an un-PC stop at taco bell to celebrate. CLASSY!

  4. I have more pictures of that baby!! Also that bean dip was gooooooooooood, would eat again, A+++.

    • I need a new phone that’s battery lasts more than 3 hours or I’d have more pics too!!

      I love that bean dip! The bean dip doesn’t HAVE to be put in the oven either, so we can always make it microwave style.

  5. Thanks for stopping by the blog today!! Hope to hear from you again soon 🙂

    I LOVE Mexican! I think I could eat it everyday!!! We do a lot of vegetarian burritos/tostadas/nachos!! Yummmm!

Leave a Reply

