All the single ladies.

This post could be about my love of Beyonce songs, but I’ll spare you. Two or three nights a week, Brent goes to class or work and I’m left to fend for just myself in the dinner world. In my many years of pre-Brent, I would just eat a salad or nachos soup or something that involved very little time. Or sometimes my roommate and I would have popcorn and wine, which is what I was absolutely craving last night. But, I was sick for a few days so booze of any kind is out. And popcorn, while a good snack, is not a substitute for dinner. COMPROMISE TIME! Voila:

Cauliflower Popcorn
(adapted from this 101cookbooks.com recipe.)

My Ingredient List
1/2 medium head of cauliflower, washed
2-3 T breadcrumbs (panko works best)
1 teaspoon extra-virgin olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 T red pepper flakes
scant 1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions (again, adapted from here)

1. Preheat oven to 400º. Trim the cauliflower keeping only the florets and tiny stalks. You can save the rest for another dish if you want.

2. In a large bowl toss the cauliflower with a 1 teaspoon of olive oil, breadcrumbs, garlic and red pepper flakes.


3. Pam a baking sheet and place the cauliflower mixture on top.  I like to put the little stalks face down so they get nice and roasty. (new word!)

face down!

4. Rotate each tree after about 10 minutes in the oven. Then bake for another 10-15 minutes until the cauliflower should be tender throughout and the breadcrumbs nicely toasted. Salt and serve to yourself immediately.

I added a salad and called it all a delicious dinner. I’ve heard these also taste good with some shredded parmesan and/or lemon juice. Probably tastes better when listening to Beyonce while you eat… I might try that next time.

5 responses to “All the single ladies.

  1. Oh….I bet that would be good with Broccoli too!

  2. ah! i actually have a half head of cauliflower in my fridge that i need to eat! i will try this. Mike will not thank you.

  3. Made this last night! Delicious and Mike ate it too! I think he secretly really liked it, but he will never allow himself to act too excited over a vegetable. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

