Pizza Party*!

We almost ordered a pizza on Friday, but then got a text that our neighbor-pals wanted to go out. Then I missed a text (by 2 hours) that my friends were at a place with great pizza down the street. Ok, universe. I’ll make my own!

Getting/going out for pizza is fine sometimes, but once you make it at home – and I don’t mean frozen pizza- you won’t often go back. You can top your pizza with exactly what you. Want tomatoes but not a ton, fine, do it! Go get your dough and try it out.

I have tried lots of pre-made dough, and most are just fine, but the best one I’ve tried yet has been from Great Harvest. I love going there on the weekends and getting a sample of bread and picking up a dough ball. They sell both white and wheat, and the last time I  went with wheat. The wheat has more fiber, is better for you and tastes awesome.

Just like most of the dishes I make, this one contained pretty much what I had on hand:

My Ingredient List:

1 wheat dough ball
1/4 c. diced white onion
1/2 c. baby spinach
1/4 c. feta cheese
1/4 c. tomato
4 oz shredded mozzarella
5 artichoke hearts (chopped)
1 clove garlic
1 packet of pizza sauce
1 teaspoon oregano
flour to roll out the dough

To make this pizza extra perfect I would have loved to had some mushrooms, green pepper and basil to put on top but there will always be a next time.

To start, go by whatever the instructions on your dough say. I had to let my dough sit out for 2 hours, and then get to rolling in it into my desired shape.

Flour the table + rolling pin first, then roll!

Sometimes you have to stretch it a little by hand.

I then put the dough on an Pam-sprayed circular cookie sheet to rise for 10 minutes. After that, I popped it in a 350º oven for 15 minutes as per instructions. The entire house smelled like homemade bread baking… amazing.

I then sauced the pizza using a packet of Boboli sauce- I really like these because they are individually packaged to fit on a large pizza, nothing goes to waste. On top of the sauce I first add the chopped garlic, then the spinach, and then all of the other vegetables. I only put the artichoke hearts on half as my partner in pizza eating crime Brent doesn’t enjoy those.

I like the toppings under the cheese... for no reason.

After the toppings, put the mozzarella and feta on top, and sprinkle with dried oregano. Then, place into the already very pre-heated oven and bake for 15-20 minutes. After everything looks done, I like to put my pizza under the broiler to brown the cheese a bit.

If I cook during the day, maybe I wont have to use my flash...

While that was cooking, I had to think up what I wanted to eat with this. While it is veggie-heavy, I needed something else. I really wanted to make a salad to go with this, but Brent found some carrots that only had a few days of life left. Since I hate wasting food, and the oven was already on so I decided to make some roasted carrots.

Take 4 or 5 carrots, peel them and then chop them into 1/4-1/2-inch wide by 3″ long sticks. (Or, however big you want them!) Put them on a Pam’d pan and sprinkle with salt + pepper and stick ’em in the oven at 350-400º for about 15 minutes. If you like these on the crispy side, broil them for a bit right at the end.

Ready for the oven.

Although carrots + pizza don’t sound like a typical combo, I’d have to recommend it. Try it.

*Ok, there wasn’t a party.

14 responses to “Pizza Party*!

  1. well those pictures look heavenly! I have to try that Great Harvest crust. Now i might make pizza for dinner tonight.

  2. WOW! I am going to try this! Looks delicious………

  3. I’m so excited by this recipe! I have made pizzas at home before, but never with fresh dough, I will have to go out and find some now 🙂

    My favorite at home pizza toppings are: red peppers, onion, shrimp (not weird, i promise), cilantro, and avocado.

    • Do you bake the avocado? I’ve tried that, but it sounds very Mexican-pizza like! Maybe try a cilantro pesto instead of a red sauce on that… it might be amazing.

  4. Looks delish. My tummy is grumbling now… I want pizza!

  5. My mouth is watering! Nice tip on broiling the zaaa for the last few minutes!

  6. I thought for sure you’d be making the Gllen carrots – but there doesn’t seem to be any dill on there!

    • oh man. i actually loathe dill, but don’t even remember that being on the gllencarrots. can we still call them gllencarrots even if we modifed them!? plz!!?

  7. Pingback: Side dish dinner | Lots of Dishes

  8. Pingback: Stuffed Mushrooms | Lots of Dishes

Leave a Reply

