Cranberry Walnut Bread

I am my mother. I was making this recipe for Cranberry Walnut Bread when I realized this for about the 1,000th time in my life.

Every year my mom would make cranberry walnut and banana bread for her work’s bazaar to raise money. It was once a year and I remember she would spend what felt like an entire weekend baking.

So what did I find myself doing last night? Making Cranberry Walnut Bread for a work bake sale to raise money for United Way. I participated in the bake sale last year and knew I’d participate again when I found fresh cranberries from Wisconsin at the farmers market.

20131024-003530.jpg

Looks a little too much like Christmas…

Cranberry Walnut Bread
serves 16 // recipe modified from Ocean Spray
Ingredients
1 cup sugar
2 cups flour
1 ½ tsp baking powder
¾ tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 T. canola oil
¾ cup orange juice
1 egg
1/3-1/2 orange, w/peel, ground in food processor
2 cups fresh cranberries, rough chopped (approximately)
1 cup walnuts (I like to use walnut pieces)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 and combine all dry ingredients. Mix thoroughly.

2. Whisk egg in orange juice, add oil and orange mixture to orange juice mix. Add to dry ingredients. Stir until mixed.

3. Add cranberries and walnuts.

4. Place in pans coated in a non-stick spray, filling the pans a little less than 3/4 full.

5. Bake at 350 until done. If you have a big loaf that serves 15 this could take 50-55 minutes. The smaller the loaf the less amount of time it takes.  The small loaves took about 30 minutes, the large loaf took almost the full 55 minutes. Make sure you stick a cake tester (or knife or toothpick) in the center to check if it’s done, if it comes out clean, take it out! Theses are awesome as muffins for breakfast too, the muffins took less than 20 minutes.

20131024-003633.jpg

20131024-003714.jpg

This recipe is very easy to double, so I did. This bread is so delicious; not overly sweet, has a hint of citrus, and makes a good dessert or breakfast. Thanks to my boss and co-worker who purchased it so my bread wouldn’t be the last baked good left on the table.

One response to “Cranberry Walnut Bread

  1. I actually baked for 2 whole days!! I loved it. Hope you all make a lot of money!

Leave a Reply

