Pumpkin Banana Bread

The other day I turned a pumpkin into pumpkin puree. I realize people have been doing this for years, but I did it! In 2012! I also can things! I feel like a Pioneer Woman. Clearly not that Pioneer Woman. She is a professional, and I take photos for my blog with my cellphone.

Anyway, now I have a ton of pumpkin puree, and when my Mom visited she left me two realllllly ripe bananas (that she swore she was going to eat…). Land O’Lakes (#clientalert) recently published a recipe for Pumpkin Banana Bread and clearly all the stars were aligning for me to make this recipe ASAP.

Pumpkin Banana Bread
(adapted from the magical geniuses in the Test Kitchens at Land O’Lakes)

Ingredients
1.5 cups sugar
3/4 cup margarine (or butter), softened
3 eggs
1.5 cups canned pumpkin
2 medium (1/2 cup) ripe bananas, mashed
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1.5 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans

 Directions:

1. Pre-hat oven to 350°F.

2. Pam/Grease 2 (8×4-inch) loaf pans; set aside.

3. Combine sugar, margarine and eggs in large bowl. Beat at medium speed, scraping bowl often, until mixture is creamy. Add pumpkin and bananas; continue beating until well mixed. (Mixture will have curdled appearance.)

4. Reduce speed to low; add all remaining ingredients except nuts; beat just until moistened.

5. Stir in nuts

6. Spread evenly into prepared pans, leaving about an inch of room in the pan so the bread can rise a bit.

7. Bake for 50 to 60 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. (If using two 9×5-inch loaf pans, bake for 40 to 50 minutes)

8. Cool 5 minutes; remove from pans and place on a wire cooling rack to cool completely.

I made one big loaf and two mini-loafs, one of which I made without walnuts to take to work. It was really tasty and I’d for sure make it again.

3 responses to “Pumpkin Banana Bread

  1. Looks good. You are more brave than your mother, I have never attempted to puree a “real” pumpkin. God for you.

  2. This bread is delicious. I had a slice this morning for breakfast. Thanks Val!!

  3. Pingback: Monster Cookies | Lots of Dishes

Leave a Reply

