Pasta Please.

I used to be anti-pasta. I think I overdosed on it especially during my undergraduate days- thanks mostly to my BFF turned roommate Jamie who enjoyed a giant bowl of pasta every night around midnight. Pasta began to bore me so I just quit buying it and seeking it out. Two years ago, another pal, Kate, wanted to make some post-yoga healthy food and printed out the most popular vegetarian recipe from Allrecipes.com.

This recipe renewed my faith in pasta. It also made me like mushrooms. It is very easy to make and really quite healthy. It is awesome. I recommend you drop everything you are doing and try this recipe right now. Or call me and I’ll make it for you. I’m serious.

Suki’s Spinach + Feta Pasta (adapted from Allrecipes.com)

The Ingredient List:

  • 8 oz package pasta (1/2 a box, any kind works but I like rotini, penne, butterfly or capatavi)
  • 1 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 cups chopped tomatoes
  • 1 8oz package sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 4-5 cups fresh spinach leaves, packed
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 T red pepper flakes
  • 8 -10 oz feta cheese, crumbled

Directions

1. Chop garlic, onion, tomatoes and mushrooms. This recipe makes about 6 pretty big portions so invite a sous-chef over or have your live-in-dummy chop for you since he has Fridays off. (Thanks Brent!) Also- my friend Kate has used 2 cans of diced tomatoes in place of fresh and said that works, but that fresh tomatoes taste better. I recommend fresh- but to save time/money you can for sure use canned.

so artsy!

2.Heat 1T olive oil in a large skillet (we used our electric wok- normal!) over medium-high heat; add onion and garlic, and cook until golden brown.

Garlic + Onion= not for Maebys.

2. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Cook pasta in boiling water until al dente- I do one minute less than whatever the directions on the box says. I also only use whole grain, whole wheat or pasta plus these days. These pastas actually have some taste to them, and I prefer them now. Bonus: they are healthier. After your past is done cooking, drain it and set it aside.

3. Mix in tomatoes, mushrooms, and spinach. The original recipe calls for only 2 cups of spinach, but spinach is a superfood and we (even Maeby) can’t get enough of it. Season with a pinch of salt + pepper. Cook 5-7 minutes or until tomatoes are heated through and spinach is wilted.

spinach before

spinach after- probably should have added MORE!

4. Reduce heat to medium, stir in pasta, feta cheese, 1T red pepper flakes. I start with adding an 8 oz package of feta cheese and see if that coats the pasta enough. I will often add another once or two if it looks a little dry.

5. Cook for about 5 or until heated through/feta and veggies create a sauce.

You can add a full box of pasta if you want to stretch this recipe out, but I like vegetables a lot better than I like pasta, even after my pasta rebirth.

We ate and watched some DVR’d 30 Rock…which I also highly recommend. And, this might come as a shock, but we ate this with a salad. And I plan on eating any leftovers with one too. What would you eat this with?

7 responses to “Pasta Please.

  1. I really can’t recommend this recipe enough! I dont make anything else with it when i eat it. Mike will often insist on having garlic bread if i’m going to make him a meal with no meat.

  2. oh man, I wish I was wearing my Midnight Pasta t-shirt when I read this post. In my defense, I was lazy, poor, and most importantly loved (still love) pasta more than anything. I have matured though….now my go to meal is farfalle, pesta, asparagus, and roasted shrimp. That is some good stuff!!! I got this idea from when I visited you in Neb and we ate in a fancy Omaha restaurant before I left.

    I am also noticing a shrimp trend in my diet…
    <3 your BFF Jamie

    • be careful not to eat TOO much shrimp/fish.

      also, i’ll probs blog this later but i have found the best pre-made pesto to be buitoni refrigerated basil pesto. brent + i have tried MANY. trader joe’s is a close second. also- you should try that combo you mentioned w/ their buitoni spinach + cheese tortilinni. amazing.

      • thats the pesto i use! its so good, not too oily.

        and why shouldnt i eat fish/shrimp? i thought that was a healthy option?! is this bc you are scared of the smell?

      • YES!! the oily part of the pesto is the WORST. in the summer, when basil is in season, i plan to share a recipe! weee!

        HA! no. you should eat fish – just not too much. 2-3 servings per week is good. fish has omega-3′s that are important for you. but too much fish could be risky (too much mercury and/or cholesterol!)

Leave a Reply

